Bible Commentary: “Out Of Egypt” The Days Of Christmas

December 22, 2014 at 1:17 pm | Posted in Bible Commentary | Leave a comment
Tags: ,

“When Bible Imagethey had gone, an angel of the Lord appeared to Joseph in a dream.  “Get up,” he said, “take the child and his mother and escape to Egypt. Stay there until I tell you, for Herod is going to search for the child to kill him.” (Luke 2:7)

We are counting the days until Christmas and we here at Word of Encouragement would like to spend this time together reviewing the prophecies and scriptures concerning the birthday of our King and seeing how they might apply to us today and receiving encouragement from them.

Matthew 2:13-15 gives us this account, “When they had gone, an angel of the Lord appeared to Joseph in a dream. “Get up,” he said, “take the child and his mother and escape to Egypt. Stay there until I tell you, for Herod is going to search for the child to kill him.” So he got up, took the child and his mother during the night and left for Egypt, where he stayed until the death of Herod. And so was fulfilled what the Lord
had said through the prophet: “Out of Egypt I called my son”.

In Hosea 11:1 God speaks, “”When Israel was a child, I loved him, and out of Egypt I called my son”. God is reminding them that He delivered them with a mighty arm from the slavery of Egypt into a “Promised Land”. Now that very land of promise is a deathtrap for His only Son. So Joseph’s dreams are troubled again and again, in the middle of the night Joseph gets up, rouses his little family and uproots to go to a land
that is foreign to them. Joseph is a lot like Abraham in that he just obeys when he is told to go even though he has no idea of where he is going; he is just obedient. Like Joseph, the son of Jacob, (who is a type of Christ) Jesus is brought to Egypt and torn from His homeland. Unlike that Joseph, this sojourn is only for a short time. God tells
this Joseph, “Stay there until I tell you”; already there is hope that Jesus will return.

Joseph had lived in Nazareth but moved to Bethlehem because of the census. Because of the birth of Jesus they stayed in Bethlehem and began to settle down roots for about two years until the visit of the wise men. Then comes the warning and the little family is uprooted again. When it is safe to finally return they have to move again
finally settling where Joseph first started from, Nazareth.

Child of God – how many times have you moved in your life? How many times have you had to adapt to a new place because of work or family? How many times have you had to leave your loved ones and the familiar behind to travel to the unknown and begin again? As it says in Hebrews 11:17, “For this reason he had to be made like his brothers in every way, in order that he might become a merciful and faithful high priest in service to God”, Jesus knows exactly how you feel. He’s been there. Look at His life; He was always on the move, even before He was born. Whatever your life experiences Jesus has had a similar experience. He wants to hold out His nail-scarred hand to you and hold you and tell you that He knows and He can help you like none other. Let us grab hold of His hand and never let go-our very lives depend on it.

Our prayer:
Lord, thank you that you know exactly how I have felt in those situations of uncertainty and big changes. To know that you understand brings me so much comfort. Lord, give me courage to accept when the times of change come to my life so I don’t hold on to the old. Give me wisdom to start again according to your will and give me strength to face the new challenges holding on to your powerful and loving hand.
Amen.

If you want to have a personal relationship with Jesus as your Lord and Savior pray: “Dear Jesus, I know that I am a sinner and that out of love for me you willingly sacrificed your life so that I may live. I repent of all my sins and open my heart to you as my Lord and Savior. Amen.

If you prayed this prayer for the first time or if you have any questions please contact us. We would love to hear from you

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.