Book Review: “Against All Odds” by Irene Hannon

June 22, 2009 at 1:17 am | Posted in Books | 1 Comment
Tags: , , , ,

I had the privilege of interviewing Irene Hannon, author of “Against All Odds” which is the first book in the Heroes of Quantico series published by Revell Books.  The heroes are Evan Cooper, known as “Coop” and Mark Sanders, agents of the FBI’s exclusive Hostage Rescue Team.

The book begins with David Callahan, long time member of the U.S. Diplomatic Corps, based in Afghanistan.  He receives a message that unless the terrorist’s demands are met his daughter, Monica,  will be their next target.  His phone call is what activates the HRT.  This is a high tension novel with the action switching back and forth between Richmond, VA and Afghanistan at high speed.  Coop and Mark are not only dealing with a reluctant Monica but an extremely competent, organized enemy that seems to be one step ahead of them.  On top of that there is this growing attraction between Coop and Monica that further strains the already highly strained team.

In addition to the nerve-wracking suspense there is also the wonderful theme of communication effectively woven throughout the storyline.  Monica Callahan is a author/speaker on a book called “Talk the Walk”, a book on how to communicate.  Coop is one of those strong, silent type men who can really only communicate with his partner, Mark, and even that only to set limits.  David Callahan is a State Department diplomat highly skilled in the art of communication yet he cannot communicate with is daughter.  Even Monica, an author and sought after speaker has a problem with communication.  The book makes it very clear that not only does communication take effort but it also takes God to make it work.

This is a fun read, it is a fast read, however I do not recommend starting this book late at night because it will cost you sleep as you will not want to put it down.  Ms. Hannon is an excellent writer and knows how to twist your nerve endings as she tightens the suspense.  We look forward to book two which will be released at the end of August.

Blog at
Entries and comments feeds.