Book Review: “Corus the Champion” by D. Barkley Briggs

December 6, 2011 at 4:42 am | Posted in Books | 1 Comment
Tags: , ,

D. Barkley Briggs in his new book, “Corus the Champion” Book Two in the Legends Of Karac Tor series published by Living Ink Books returns us to the lives of the Barlow brothers and Karac Tor.

From the back cover:  He was once the greatest champion in the land.
Then he disappeared.

With Nemesia’s defeat, the Barlows have helped turn the tide in the Hidden Lands. But the victory is short-lived. An even greater evil stirs in the north with a fierce new army bent on destruction. As the twins, Gabe and Garret, discover their own special powers and chase down long forgotten mysteries hidden in time, a thin thread of hope emerges: a fabled king was once rescued from death on our world and hidden on Karac Tor. But who is he?

Each brother has their part to play. Hadyn must travel north to warn the land barons, while Ewan and Sorge set out to rescue Corus from the clutches of Hel. As ancient destinies rise from the ash heap of history, Ewan is left with a bitter choice. Will he sacrifice what is most precious to discover whether Corus lives? Even more important, if Corus is alive, can he wake the Sleeping King of legend…before it’s too late?

“Corus the Champion” is a fantasy in the tradition of “The Chronicles of Narnia” or “The Lord Of The Rings”.  Karac Tor  is full of invading forces trying to take over the land already occupied.  The Barlow brothers are there to use their special powers, only available to them there, to help defend and defeat these forces.  The books are outstanding, each one delivers more excitement than the last.  D. Barkley Briggs is using his knowledge of fable and lore to craft a world for us desperately in need of a savior.  Each book is rich in Bible story cleverly tucked into the fantasy elements.  The book is filled with examples of faith, sacrifice, honor and nobility.  I recommend this series highly and am looking forward to the next one.

Author’s Web site – http://hiddenlands.net/index.php?Itemid=49&id=19&option=com_content&task=view
*Participants’ links
Gillian Adams
Noah Arsenault
Beckie Burnham
Morgan L. Busse
CSFF Blog Tour
Carol Bruce Collett
Theresa Dunlap
April Erwin
Victor Gentile
Nikole Hahn
Ryan Heart
Bruce Hennigan
Christopher Hopper
Jason Joyner
Julie
Carol Keen
Krystine Kercher
Marzabeth
Shannon McDermott
Rebecca LuElla Miller
Eve Nielsen
Sarah Sawyer
Kathleen Smith
Donna Swanson
Rachel Starr Thomson
Steve Trower
Fred Warren
Phyllis Wheeler
Nicole White
Rachel Wyant

If you would like to listen to interviews with other authors and business professionals  please go to www.kingdomhighlights.org where it is available On Demand.

To listen to 24 hours non-stop Christian music please visit our internet radio station www.kingdomairwaves.org

Disclosure of Material Connection: In conjunction with the CSFF Blog Tour, I received a free copy of this book from the publisher.   I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Wonderful review, Vic. I agree that this series is exceptional. Glad you liked it.

    Becky


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

%d bloggers like this: