Book Review: “Where Courage Calls” By Janette Oke and Laurel Oke Logan

February 27, 2014 at 12:54 am | Posted in Books | Leave a comment
Tags: , ,

Janette Oke and Laurel Oke Logan in their new book, “Where Courage Calls book coverWhere Courage Calls” published by Bethany House takes us into the life of Beth Thatcher.

From the back cover:  Her courage and her heart will be tested in ways she never expected…

Beth Thatcher has spent her entire life in the safe, comfortable world of her family, her friends, and the social outings her father’s wealth provides. But Beth is about to leave it all behind to accept a teaching position in the rugged foothills of western Canada. Inspired by her aunt Elizabeth, who went west to teach school several years ago, and gently encouraged by her father, Beth resolves to put her trust in God and bravely face any challenge that comes her way.

But the conditions in Coal Valley are even worse than she’d feared. A recent mining accident has left the town grieving and at the mercy of the mining company. The children have had very little prior education, and many of the locals don’t even speak English. There isn’t even a proper schoolhouse. In addition, Beth’s heart is torn between two young men–both Mounties, one a lifelong friend and the other a kind, quiet man who comes to her aid more than once.

Despite the many challenges, Beth is determined to make a difference in the rustic frontier town. But when her sister visits from the East, reminding her of all the luxuries she’s had to give up, will Beth decide to return to her privileged life as soon as the school year is over?

A special companion story to Hallmark Channel’s When Calls the Heart TV series

Welcome back to Coal Valley.  The Oke’s have done a previous six book series  that featured Elizabeth.  “Where Courage Calls” starts a new series that features Elizabeth’s niece, Beth.  Beth wants to be a school teacher and Coal Valley is the place to start.  The Oke’s have given us plenty of wonderful characters to fall in love with, lots of adventure and romance. There is a lot going on in Coal Valley and the Oke’s know how to take us through each event by letting us in on the lives of the participants.  This is a great start to a new series.  I have enjoyed it immensely and I look forward to the next book to see what will happen with Beth.

You can find “Where Courage Calls” at a discount at

If you would like to listen to interviews with other authors and professionals please go to where they are available On Demand.

To listen to 24 hours non-stop, commercial free Christian music please visit our internet radio station

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Litfuse Publicity Group.  I was not required to write a positive review.   The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”


Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

Create a free website or blog at
Entries and comments feeds.

%d bloggers like this: