Bible Commentary: “Our High Priest” The Days Of Christmas

December 23, 2014 at 1:08 pm | Posted in Bible Commentary | Leave a comment
Tags: ,

“For we do not have a high priest who is unable to sympathize with our weaknesses, but we have one who has been tempted in every way, just as we are–yet was without sin”. (Hebrews 4:15)

We are counting the days until Christmas and we here at Word of Encouragement hope you have enjoyed this time of reviewing the prophecies and scriptures concerning the birthday of our King and that you found application in your life and that God has given you encouragement.  Today we would like to do something a little different from our normal exploration of God’s Word. We would just like to review how Jesus can sympathize with our weaknesses.

Jesus came from a blended family. Joseph was His stepfather. When Joseph woke up, he did what the angel of the Lord had commanded him and took Mary home as his wife. But he had no union with her until she gave birth to a son. And he gave him the name Jesus (Matthew 1:24-25)”.

Jesus was homeless. He was born in Bethlehem, moved to Egypt, then moved to Galilee and grew up in Nazareth. He was a traveler with no real roots.

Even though the life of Jesus was constantly in danger God the Father watched over Him to protect Him. “An angel of the Lord appeared to Joseph in a dream. “Get up,” he said, “take the child and his mother and escape to Egypt. Stay there until I tell you, for Herod is going to search for the child to kill him (Matthew 2:13).” “I will watch over them to build and to plant,” declares the LORD (Jeremiah 31:28).

Even tough the Lord came to the world in the midst of all these circumstances, He had a mission and a purpose. So do you! Think that in spite of all the adversity that you may have had in your life, God has a plan and a purpose for your life too. You just need to put everything under perspective defining your relationship with Jesus and who is Him for you so you can find your real purpose.

Child of God – God said to Moses in Exodus 3:14, “God said to Moses, “I AM WHO I AM. This is what you are to say to the Israelites: `I AM has sent me to you”. Jesus asked a question in Matthew 16:15, “”But what about you?” he asked. “Who do you say I am?” Let us answer this question like Peter, “Simon Peter answered, “You are the Christ, the Son of the living God (Matthew 16:16”. Let us come and worship Jesus as the “I Am” the fulfillment of all our hopes, needs, wants, questions, hurts and desires. Jesus is our High Priest, our Mediator, our Redeemer and our King!

Our prayer:
Lord, I believe that you are my High Priest and my King. Help me to understand the depth of who your really are and the purpose that you have in my life. Amen.

If you want to have a personal relationship with Jesus as your Lord and Savior pray: “Dear Jesus, I know that I am a sinner and that out of love for me you willingly sacrificed your life so that I may live. I repent of all my sins and open my heart to you as my Lord and Savior. Amen.

If you prayed this prayer for the first time or if you have any questions please contact us. We would love to hear from you

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

