Bible Commentary: “Fourth Word-Need” The Days Of Lent

March 1, 2015 at 9:25 am | Posted in Bible Commentary | Leave a comment
Tags: ,

“Later, knowing that all was now completed, and so that the Scripture would be fulfilled, Jesus said, “I am thirsty.”(John 19:28 NIV)

The last time Jesus had anything to drink was at supper with His friends Thursday night. After that Jesus went to the garden where He prayed so hard blood poured out with His sweat. Jesus had been up all night walking back and forth between the Chief Priests, Herod and Pilate, this was exercise and exercise causes thirst. Pilate had Him whipped and the guards put a crown of thorns on His head; the blood flowed and so did His sweat. Jesus was on the cross for six hours; from Nine in the morning to Three in the afternoon, this is a desert country and it is hot and Jesus sweated some more. There is only so much water in the human body and if you lose too much water you die of dehydration. This is almost the point that Jesus is up to.

Many years ago, when I was a Boy Scout, we had a long hike back to camp from where we had spent the night. It was a warm day and everyone’s canteen was empty, including the adults, before the hike was half over.  With the exertion of the hike and the hot sun we all sweated and we had no water to replace our loss. Our lips were dry and our tongues swelled and all we could think about was camp and drinking water. Immediately inside the campgrounds was a water fountain and scout and scoutmaster alike lined up by that water fountain when we made it back to camp. We needed that water badly and anyone who has ever been in that kind of situation or worse remembers the taste of the water like no other time.

Jesus is severely dehydrated and calls out His need. Why, does He now speak His only word of need? Because He needed to fulfill Scripture.  What Scripture? “I am poured out like water, and all my bones are out of joint. My heart has turned to wax; it has melted away within me. My strength is dried up like a potsherd, and my tongue sticks to the roof of my mouth; you lay me in the dust of death” (Psalm 22:14-15 NIV).  “Scorn has broken my heart and has left me helpless; I looked for sympathy, but there was none, for comforters, but I found none. They put gall in my food and gave me vinegar for my thirst”(Psalm 69:20-21 NIV). Jesus says He is thirsty and what He really needs is some water and what they give Him is vinegar, sour wine; not even good wine. Their actions are a mockery to who Jesus is. Jesus said to the Samaritan woman at the well, “but whoever drinks the water I give him will never thirst. Indeed, the water I give him will become in him a spring of water welling up to eternal life” (John 4:14). Jesus is the Living Water and He couldn’t even be given a little water to quench His thirst.

Child of God – “On the last and greatest day of the Feast, Jesus stood and said in a loud voice, “If anyone is thirsty, let him come to me and drink” (John 7:37 NIV). “You did not withhold your manna from their mouths, and you gave them water for their thirst” (Nehemiah 9:20 NIV).  “Let them give thanks to the LORD for his unfailing love and his wonderful deeds for men, for he satisfies the thirsty and fills the hungry with good things” (Psalm 107:8-9). If you are in need and are thirsty call out to God and He will answer you. He is intimately acquainted with your need and knows how to meet it. God said, “The poor and needy search for water, but there is none; their tongues are parched with thirst. But I the LORD will answer them; I, the God of Israel, will
not forsake them. I will make rivers flow on barren heights, and springs within the valleys. I will turn the desert into pools of water, and the parched ground into springs” (Isaiah 41:17-18 NIV). On your dry and thirsty land God will transform it into an oasis. We just need to call out to Him our need.

Our prayer:
Lord, you know what it is to be really thirsty. I’m grateful that you can understand me when I feel dry and thirsty and that you are the only one who can really quench my thirst. You are the living waters. Lord fill me of you, that I won’t thirst again. As the deer pants for water, my soul thirst after you. Amen.

If you want to have a personal relationship with Jesus as your Lord and Savior pray: “Dear Jesus, I know that I am a sinner and that out of love for me you willingly sacrificed your life so that I may live. I repent of all my sins and open my heart to you as my Lord and Savior. Amen.

If you prayed this prayer for the first time or if you have any questions please contact us. We would love to hear from you.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

