Bible Commentary: “Fifth Word-Conflict” The Days Of Lent

March 2, 2015 at 1:53 pm | Posted in Bible Commentary | Leave a comment
Tags: ,

“About the ninth hour Jesus cried out in a loud voice, “Eloi, Eloi, lama sabachthani?”–which means, “My God, my God, why have you forsaken me?”(Matthew 27:46 NIV)

Isaiah tells us, “But Zion said, The LORD hath forsaken me, and my Lord hath forgotten me” (Isaiah 49:14 NIV). King David cries out at the beginning of Psalm 22, “My God, my God, why have you forsaken me? Why are you so far from saving me, so far from the words of my groaning”  (Psalm 22:1 NIV)? David is letting The Lord know that he is crying out day and night and he feels that he is not receiving a response. Jesus doesn’t feel that way; Jesus feels the actual separation from His
father.

“From the sixth hour until the ninth hour darkness came over all the land. About the ninth hour Jesus cried out in a loud voice, “Eloi, Eloi, lama sabachthani?”–which means, “My God, my God, why have you forsaken me?” When some of those standing there heard this, they said, “He’s calling Elijah.” Immediately one of them ran and got a sponge. He filled it with wine vinegar, put it on a stick, and offered it to Jesus to drink. The rest said, “Now leave him alone. Let’s see if Elijah comes to save him.” (Matthew 27:45-49 NIV)

It’s been a long six hours, during this time Jesus has asked His Father to forgive the people, received one of the thieves as His own and made provision for His mother to be taken care of. After three hours, from Noon until Three, when the sun should shine its brightest, there is something like a total eclipse of the sun, there is darkness on the land and it is very unusual. None of the gospels record a word that is spoken as if the darkness quiets the souls of everyone around.  Three hours of darkness as all the sin that was, is and is to come, One hour for each, is transferred to the account of Jesus and the darkness of all that sin is so overwhelming even the heavens become dark. Jesus has been silent for over three hours and now, as the ninth hour approaches, in rapid-fire succession He speaks to fulfill scripture as His time is coming rapidly to an end. Jesus is fulfilling the cry found in Job, chapter 16. Sin separates us from God, Jesus, who knew no sin became sin for us, and for an awful moment was separated from His Father.  What is the conflict? Matthew, Mark and Luke each record in their gospels that God spoke from heaven and declared, “And there came a voice from heaven, saying, Thou art my beloved Son, in whom I am well pleased” (Matthew 17:5, Mark 1:11, Luke 3:22 NIV). Jesus went from being well pleased with the Father to being forsaken. However, Jesus begins His cry with “My God”. Not God why did you do this to me but “My God”. This is a very personal cry, God is still His God and Jesus is still His servant doing His will, Jesus is crying out from the intense sting of being separated from The One that He has been together with for eternity not from loss of fellowship. God is still His God, there is no other, no matter the circumstances, even a moment’s separation, God is always a personal God.

Child of God – In Isaiah 49 we read of what God had called Jesus to do for us, “to restore the tribes of Jacob and bring back those of Israel I have kept. I will also make you a light for the Gentiles, that you may bring my salvation to the ends of the earth” (Isaiah 49:6 NIV). Jesus, in that one awful moment of separation, offered up His High Priestly function the sacrifice for sin and it was accepted and became a guarantee of the better covenant for us. By the sacrifice of Jesus we can be accepted by The Father and be made Holy and separated unto Him not apart from him. “Because of this oath, Jesus has become the guarantee of a better covenant. Now there have been many of those priests, since death prevented them from continuing in office; but because Jesus lives forever, he has a permanent priesthood. Therefore he is able to save completely those who come to God through him, because he always lives to intercede for them. Such a high priest meets our need–one who is holy, blameless, pure, set apart from sinners, exalted above the heavens. Unlike the other high priests, he does not need to offer sacrifices day after day, first for his own sins, and then for the sins of the people. He sacrificed for their sins once for all when he offered himself. For the law appoints as high priests men who are weak; but the oath, which came after the law, appointed the Son, who has been made perfect forever” (Hebrews 22-28 NIV).

Our prayer:
Lord, thank you for your great love. It is so strong that nothing can separate me from you. Thank you that for the sacrifice of Jesus, I can come confidently to your presence and fellowship with you. I’m so grateful for the New Covenant, eternal and perfect, through the blood of Jesus. Help me to understand all the implications and benefits of the covenant and give me your Grace not to break it as I walk with you daily. Amen.

If you want to have a personal relationship with Jesus as your Lord and Savior pray: “Dear Jesus, I know that I am a sinner and that out of love for me you willingly sacrificed your life so that I may live. I repent of all my sins and open my heart to you as my Lord and Savior. Amen.

If you prayed this prayer for the first time or if you have any questions please contact us. We would love to hear from you.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

