Bible Commentary: “Fast Of Esther” The Days Of Lent

March 4, 2015 at 7:35 am | Posted in Bible Commentary | Leave a comment
Tags: ,

“For if you remain silent at this time, relief and deliverance for the Jews will arise from another place, but you and your father’s family will perish. And who knows but that you have come to royal position for such a time as this?” (Esther 4:14 NIV)

When Esther’s words were reported to Mordecai, he sent back this answer: “Do not think that because you are in the king’s house you alone of all the Jews will escape. For if you remain silent at this time, relief and deliverance for the Jews will arise from another place, but you and your father’s family will perish. And who knows but that you have come to royal position for such a time as this?” Then Esther sent this reply to Mordecai: “Go, gather together all the Jews who are in Susa, and fast for me. Do not eat or drink for three days, night or day. I and my maids will fast as you do. When this is done, I will go to the king, even though it is against the law. And if I perish, I perish.” So Mordecai went away and carried out all of Esther’s instructions.” (Esther 4:12-17 NIV).

Mordecai tells Esther that she has come to her royal position for such a time as this. And what a time it is! The royal decree has been issued in the 1st month to exterminate the Jews in the 12th month. Time is not a commodity that they have in abundance, not when the kingdom is as extensive as the empire they are in. So Mordecai is hard on her and tells her that deliverance for the Jews will come even if she remains silent. His faith in his God is absolute! He knows that God will not ever abandon His people no matter what! But then Mordecai softens and says to his adopted daughter that maybe the reason why she is queen is so that, through her, God can deliver His people.

Can you see Esther square her queenly shoulders as she makes her royal decision and sends an order to her blood cousin who is also her adoptive father? All Jews are to fast and pray with her and her maids for three days. Then after the three days, even though it is against the law, she will go into the king. She comes to her royal decision whatever happens I will go to the king “and if I perish, I perish.” Esther realizes that if she does nothing she will die later when this day of violence happens against her people of she can die now in violation of the king’s law or possibly God can do a miracle and spare everyone’s lives. Then the incredible happens Mordecai, who has always been the one to give the orders to his cousin-adoptive daughter now goes and does exactly as she says. Why, because she is the queen and she has given the command. No questions, no exemptions, just do as she says.

Child of God – Do you know your future?  Do you know what your life will be like tomorrow, next week, 11 months from now? Can you plan your life correctly based on your knowledge?  If you cannot then go to the King of kings.  He will direct your paths, guide your footsteps and lead you in the way you should go. God knows your future, He has it all planned for you, just go to Him and trust Him.  He will never fail you.

Our prayer:
Lord, thank you for your faithfulness. You proved to me over and over again that you are on my side and always taking care of me. Guide me in your ways and help me to fulfill the mission that you have for me in life. Amen.

If you want to have a personal relationship with Jesus as your Lord and Savior pray: “Dear Jesus, I know that I am a sinner and that out of love for me you willingly sacrificed your life so that I may live. I repent of all my sins and open my heart to you as my Lord and Savior. Amen.

If you prayed this prayer for the first time or if you have any questions please contact us. We would love to hear from you.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

