Bible Commentary: “Seventh Word-Trust” The Days Of Lent

March 6, 2015 at 12:27 pm | Posted in Bible Commentary | Leave a comment
Tags: ,

“Jesus called out with a loud voice, “Father, into your hands I commit my spirit.” When he had said this, he breathed his last.”(Luke 23:46 NIV)

King David had enemies that had laid traps for him but he sings of the ability of God to save him from those traps and his trust in God is so strong that he sings, “Into your hands I commit my spirit; redeem me, O LORD, the God of truth” (Psalm 31:5 NIV).

It’s Three in the afternoon; Jesus has been on the cross for six hours waiting for this one moment because it is the time of the evening sacrifice. Caiaphas is standing at the top of the temple blowing the shofar announcing to the world, Jew and non-Jew alike that the evening sacrifice is going to happen. Jesus calls out with a loud voice announcing to the world, Jew and non-Jew alike that the eternal sacrifice is going to happen.

In the fifth word Jesus cried, Eli, Eli, My God, my God; but, to show that the dreadful agony of his soul was now over and He is restored, Jesus again calls God, Father. When He cried out, My God Jesus was a servant doing the will of The Creator, now He is giving up his life and soul for us, calling God Father, that we through him might receive the adoption of sons. Isaiah tells us, “Yet it pleased the LORD to bruise Him; He has put Him to grief. When You make His soul an offering for sin, He shall see His seed, He shall prolong His days, And the pleasure of the LORD shall prosper in His hand” (Isaiah 53:10 NKJV). Jesus, both the priest and the sacrifice, was going “to give his life as a ransom for many” (Matthew 20:28 NIV). The Son of God, by The Spirit of God is paying the price for Sin to the person offended by Sin, God Himself, “How much more, then, will the blood of Christ, who through the eternal Spirit offered himself unblemished to God, cleanse our consciences from acts that lead to death, so that we may serve the living God” (Hebrews 9:14 NIV)!

Child of God – Just like us Jesus had a spirit and at the time of His death Jesus wanted to ensure it’s safety so He entrusted it into the hands of His Father, God. He trusts completely that God will provide the resurrection because Jesus is giving His spirit into His hands.  Many people today are discussing whether there is life after death and what happens to us after we die. For those who believe in God there is no cause for concern or worry. We, who trusted our lives to Him, like David did in his Psalm, should also have complete confidence to trust our spirits to Him. Our great concern should be about our spirit, and we cannot more effectually provide for our spirits welfare than by committing it now into the hands of God, as a Father, to be sanctified and governed by his Spirit and grace. We must show that we are freely willing to die, that we firmly believe in another life after this, and are desirous of it, by saying, Father, into thy hands I commit my spirit.

Our prayer:
Lord, thank you for being so trustworthy that I know that not only can I trust you with my spirit when the time comes for me to leave my body and go to you. But also I can trust you with my soul, my feelings and everything in my life while I’m still on earth. Amen.

If you want to have a personal relationship with Jesus as your Lord and Savior pray: “Dear Jesus, I know that I am a sinner and that out of love for me you willingly sacrificed your life so that I may live. I repent of all my sins and open my heart to you as my Lord and Savior. Amen.

If you prayed this prayer for the first time or if you have any questions please contact us. We would love to hear from you.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

