Bible Commentary: “Don’t You Know Me?” The Days Of Lent

March 8, 2015 at 3:26 pm | Posted in Bible Commentary | Leave a comment
Tags: ,

“Jesus answered: “Don’t you know me, Philip, even after I have been among you such a long time? Anyone who has seen me has seen the Father.  How can you say, `Show us the Father’? (John 14:9 NIV)

Thursday night, Jesus is sharing His last evening Passover meal with His friends, Judas Iscariot has gone to betray Him and Jesus has just a few more things that He has to tell His disciples. “Do not let your hearts be troubled. Trust in God; trust also in me. In my Father’s house are many rooms; if it were not so, I would have told you. I am going there to prepare a place for you. And if I go and prepare a place for you, I will come back and take you to be with me that you also may be where I am. You know the way to the place where I am going.” Thomas said to him, “Lord, we don’t know where you are going, so how can we know the way?”  Jesus answered, “I am the way and the truth and the life. No one comes to the Father except through me. If you really knew me, you would know my Father as well. From now on, you do know him and have seen him.”  Philip said, “Lord, show us the Father and that will be enough for us.”  Jesus answered: “Don’t you know me, Philip, even after I have been among you such a long time? Anyone who has seen me has seen the Father. How can you say, `Show us the Father’? Don’t you believe that I am in the Father, and that the Father is in me? The words I say to you are not just my own. Rather, it is the Father, living in me, who is doing his work. Believe me when I say that I am in the Father and the Father is in me; or at least believe on the evidence of the miracles themselves. I tell you the truth, anyone who has faith in me will do what I have been doing. He will do even greater things than these, because I am going to the Father. And I will do whatever you ask in my name, so that the Son may bring glory to the Father. You may ask me for anything in my name, and I will do it” (John 14:1-14 NIV).

Three years they have been with Jesus, they walked where He walked, slept where He slept, saw His miracles, heard every word He had to say and in the closing moments of His life the disciples still didn’t understand Him. Jesus is telling them He is going back to heaven and He is the way there. Philip asks how they can know the way if they don’t know where He is going? Jesus tells them, “If you really knew me, you would know my Father as well” (John 14:7 NIV). To show you how far they didn’t understand Philip asks to see the Father and they would be satisfied.  Jesus asks simply, “Jesus answered: “Don’t you know me, Philip, even after I have been among you such a long time? Anyone who has seen me has seen the Father. How can you say, `Show us the Father’ (John 14:9 NIV)?

Child of God – Many times we read the words on the page and forget to use inflection when we get to conversations. I hear a trace of sadness in the voice of Jesus as He says these words. He has been living with them as close as He can get and still they didn’t understand. “Don’t you know me?” This is a plea for each believer from the lips of the Master. How long have we been saved, one year, five years, ten, twenty years, longer? How well do we know Jesus? Here’s a test: Jesus said, “I tell you the truth, anyone who has faith in me will do what I have been doing. He will do even greater things than these, because I am going to the Father” (John 14:12 NIV). Are you doing what He did? Are you doing greater? Jesus cast out demons, He healed the sick, He raised the dead, and He spoke about the Father. Now one can argue that Jesus was God, however, Jesus did say we would do greater if we knew Him and understood our place and authority in Him. Do you know Jesus? Do you love Him and trust Him absolutely? Do you believe that He can and if He can then you can? “On that day you will realize that I am in my Father, and you are in me, and I am in you” (John 14:20 NIV). Do you realize that Jesus is in you and His power and authority is absolute? Don’t you know Him?

Our prayer:
Lord, forgive me for not trusting in you the way I’m supposed to. I know you and yet sometimes I forget that you are faithful to your word and that you are with me and in me all the time. Help me to be conscious of your presence and to have boldness to go and do what you did, say what you said and be like you are. Amen.

If you want to have a personal relationship with Jesus as your Lord and Savior pray: “Dear Jesus, I know that I am a sinner and that out of love for me you willingly sacrificed your life so that I may live. I repent of all my sins and open my heart to you as my Lord and Savior. Amen.

If you prayed this prayer for the first time or if you have any questions please contact us. We would love to hear from you.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

