Bible Commentary: “He Broke The Bread” The Days Of Lent

March 16, 2015 at 6:26 am | Posted in Bible Commentary | Leave a comment
Tags: ,

“While they were eating, Jesus took bread, gave thanks and broke it, and gave it to his disciples, saying, “Take and eat; this is my body.”(Matthew 26:26 NIV),
“While they were eating, Jesus took bread, gave thanks and broke it, and gave it to his disciples, saying, “Take it; this is my body.”(Mark 14:22 NIV),
And he took bread, gave thanks and broke it, and gave it to them, saying, “This is my body given for you; do this in remembrance of me.”(Luke 22:19 NIV)

Paul tells us, “For I received from the Lord what I also passed on to you: The Lord Jesus, on the night he was betrayed, took bread, and when he had given thanks, he broke it and said, “This is my body, which is for you; do this in remembrance of me” (1 Corinthians 11:23-24 NIV).  Thursday night, Jesus is celebrating the Passover Lamb with His friends and, knowing what is to come, takes a loaf of bread in His hands, breaks it and give it to them telling them it is His body. Luke and Paul tell us it is His body given for us. So what do they mean that His body is for us? Well why did Jesus have a body? One answer would be to live among us, another answer to die for us; all would be correct yet there is one more answer equally correct and that is Jesus had a body so that He could take a beating so that we might be healed!

We have previously reviewed that He took a whipping so that by the stripes He received we are healed but what about the beatings He took?  “Then they spit in his face and struck him with their fists. Others slapped him.”(Matthew 26:67 NIV), “They spit on him, and took the staff and struck him on the head again and again”(Matthew 27:30 NIV) “Then some began to spit at him; they blindfolded him, struck him with their fists, and said, “Prophesy!” And the guards took him and beat him”(Mark 14:65 NIV)  “Again and again they struck him on the head with a staff and spit on him. Falling on their knees, they paid homage to him”(Mark 15:19 NIV)  “When Jesus said this, one of the officials nearby struck him in the face”(John 18:22 NIV)  “…and went up to him again and again, saying, “Hail, king of the Jews!” And they struck him in the face”(John 19:3 NIV).  Isaiah tells us, “I offered my back to those who beat me, my cheeks to those who pulled out my beard; I did not hide my face from mocking and spitting” (Isaiah 50:6 NIV).

In one night Jesus took a terrific beating that a lesser man would have died from. Why did Jesus have to do this?  Because He took the bread and broke it saying it was His body, which is broken for us. If you think about it before Jesus went to the cross there was not one part of His body that was not bruised, even His internal organs were bruised. Why? Simply so that when we go to our Jesus as our Healer we can be assured that He not only is He our healer but He is well acquainted with our pain. Jesus took a severe beating so that He could make an offering for our healing, “But I will restore you to health and heal your wounds,’ declares the LORD, `because you are called an outcast, Zion for whom no one cares” (Jeremiah 30:17 NIV).

Child of God – “Then the two told what had happened on the way, and how Jesus was recognized by them when he broke the bread” (Luke 24:35 NIV).  Jesus was recognized when He broke the bread, the problem that we have is that we don’t recognize Him. We do not see Him as our healer in His broken body. Jesus told us, “Just as Moses lifted up the snake in the desert, so the Son of Man must be lifted up” (John 3:14 NIV), we need to look at Jesus just as the Israelites looked at the bronze serpent after they had been bitten by a poisonous snake and were healed. When we are afflicted in our bodies then we need to look at the risen Savior who has the power to heal us and be healed. We need to look and live, look at Jesus now and live!

Our prayer:
Lord, thank you for the love that you have for me. That you took the pain so I could be free from pain and sickness. Help me to have a greater and deeper revelation of the truth of your healing power so I can live in divine health and share with others the same power. Amen.

If you want to have a personal relationship with Jesus as your Lord and Savior pray: “Dear Jesus, I know that I am a sinner and that out of love for me you willingly sacrificed your life so that I may live. I repent of all my sins and open my heart to you as my Lord and Savior. Amen.

If you prayed this prayer for the first time or if you have any questions please contact us. We would love to hear from you.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

