Bible Commentary: “Holy Thursday” The Days Of Lent

April 2, 2015 at 7:44 am | Posted in Bible Commentary | Leave a comment
Tags: ,

“And he said to them, “I have eagerly desired to eat this Passover with you before I suffer.” (Luke 22:15 NIV)

“Then came the day of Unleavened Bread on which the Passover lamb had to be sacrificed.  Jesus sent Peter and John, saying, “Go and make preparations for us to eat the Passover.” “Where do you want us to prepare for it?” they asked. He replied, “As you enter the city, a man carrying a jar of water will meet you. Follow him to the house that he enters, and say to the owner of the house, `The Teacher asks: Where is the guest room, where I may eat the Passover with my disciples?’ He will show you a large upper room, all furnished. Make preparations there.” They left and found things just as Jesus had told them. So they prepared the Passover. When the hour came, Jesus and his apostles reclined at the table. And he said to them, “I have eagerly desired to eat this Passover with you before I suffer”(Luke 22:7-15 NIV).

It’s all winding down, this is the last day before Jesus dies; the last day that He can spend with his friends and he wants it to be just right. So He sends His two closest friends to set up and prepare for the feast. To ensure that everything is just perfectly Jesus tells them where to meet a man, what to do after the meeting and what to say to the owner of the house. As He had done before He entered Jerusalem when Jesus needed the colt to ride upon and He told His disciples exactly where it was and what to say to the owner Jesus is once again exercising His knowledge of everything by telling them where to go what to do and what to say. Jesus provided for their every need while He went to the temple to teach.

As He had done every day since cleansing the temple of the money changers Jesus was teaching and healing in the temple. These were His last days and His best effort to reach the people, as this was the feast of unleavened bread, which continued seven days, and all the Jews from everywhere were in the temple to hear Him! So while He worked in one place Peter and John worked in another. The time has come for Jesus to take His rest, if only for a little while, “When the hour came, Jesus and his apostles reclined at the table”(Luke 22:14 NIV). There was no huge, noisy crowd, there weren’t any disciples, just Jesus and His twelve at dinner. This was His feast and He wanted to enjoy it intimately. “And he said to them, “I have eagerly desired to eat this Passover with you before I suffer” (Luke 22:15 NIV), eagerly He desired it! There is nothing in the world like being with good friends and having a good meal! The conversation goes everywhere and there is laughter, intimacy, understanding, fellowship and fun. And Jesus eagerly desired His last meal to be with His closest friends. Before the agony of the cross He would have a good time so that He could remember the pleasure He had experienced with them as He suffered.

Child of God – Jesus eagerly desires to have a meal with us, “Here I am! I stand at the door and knock. If anyone hears my voice and opens the door, I will come in and eat with him, and he with me” (Revelation 3:20 NIV). Jesus wants to enjoy fellowship with you to such an extent that we can understand His voice. This way when He speaks and gives us direction to go to a place where we have never been, follow a stranger to a new place and rent a room with no money, we will go obediently trusting that God will provide.

Our prayer:
Lord, thank you for showing me what it means to have true fellowship with friends. You had friends then, and you were the friend by excellence to them, but you are my friend now. The best friend, Lord, it is an honor that you have the desire to fellowship with me. I don’t deserve it, but I take it anyway. Help me to be the kind of friend you are, to my friends, but above all, teach me how to be your true friend.
Amen.

If you want to have a personal relationship with Jesus as your Lord and Savior pray: “Dear Jesus, I know that I am a sinner and that out of love for me you willingly sacrificed your life so that I may live. I repent of all my sins and open my heart to you as my Lord and Savior. Amen.

If you prayed this prayer for the first time or if you have any questions please contact us. We would love to hear from you.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

