Bible Commentary: “I Know You By Name”

April 9, 2015 at 9:09 am | Posted in Bible Commentary | Leave a comment
Tags: ,

Bible ImageSo the LORD said to Moses, “I will also do this thing that you have
spoken; for you have found grace in My sight, and I know you by name.”
(Exodus 33:17 NKJV)

Moses had a custom of pitching a tent outside of where the Israelites
camped which he called the “tent of meeting” and this tent is where the
Lord would speak with Moses. On one occasion the Bible records the conversation, “Then Moses said to the LORD, “See, You say to me, “Bring up this people.’ But You have not let me know whom You will send with me. Yet You have said, “I know you by name, and you have also found grace in My sight.’ Now therefore, I pray, if I have found grace in Your sight, show me now Your way, that I may know You and that I may find grace in Your sight. And consider that this nation is Your people.” And He said, “My Presence will go with you, and I will give you rest.” Then he said to Him, “If Your Presence does not go with us, do not bring us up from here. For how then will it be known that Your people and I have found grace in Your sight, except You go with us? So we shall be separate, Your people and I, from all the people who are upon the face of the earth.” So the LORD said to Moses, “I will also do this thing that you have spoken; for you have found grace in My sight, and I know you by name.” And he said, “Please, show me Your glory.” Then He said, “I will make all My goodness pass before you, and I will proclaim the name of the LORD before you. I will be gracious to whom I will be gracious, and I will have compassion on whom I will have compassion”
(Exodus 33:7-19 NKJV).

This is quite a conversation that we are allowed to eavesdrop on and when you consider that God is one of the speakers it escalates beyond comparison. The conversation begins with a known; Moses says to God that he has already been told that God knows his name and that Moses has found Grace in His sight. Knowing that Moses asks “if I have found grace in Your sight, show me now Your way, that I may know You and that I may find grace in Your sight” (Exodus 33:13 NKJV). This is a
foundational principle, Moses is just not repeating himself for fun, remember that Moses was a prince in the land of Egypt and he was taught how to build things like Pyramids and such.

This is the foundation: Moses has found favor with God. Floor 1: Now that there is favor, or grace, then Moses needs to be taught God’s way that Moses may know God. Floor 2: Once Moses begins to know God and His way Moses needs to find favor with God. Want to do that again? To build with God you need a relationship and from that relationship flows God’s grace. With God’s grace you can be taught His way and begin to know God. However once you begin to have this teaching you need more grace, or a deeper relationship, to continue to be taught God’s way and know more of God.

What does this special relationship do? It makes you special, unique, Moses says, “So we shall be separate, Your people and I, from all the people who are upon the face of the earth” (Exodus 33:16 NKJV).

Child of God – What does God think about this prayer to make us unique? “So the LORD said to Moses, “I will also do this thing that you have spoken; for you have found grace in My sight, and I know you by name” (Exodus 33:17 NKJV). God likes this prayer. Why? Because we have already found grace in His sight and He knows us by name. Our names are written in the palm of His hand, “See, I have engraved you on the palms of my hands; your walls are ever before me” (Isaiah 49:16 NIV). Now that we have found grace in His sight let us walk in His way and know Him that we may find grace in His sight and then we can be a special people to Him!

Our prayer:
Lord, it is a privilege to find grace and favor before you, to know that you know me by name. But I find that I need to know you better, and I need to know you more. And I can’t do that without your help and guidance. Help me to know you better, reveal yourself to me. And in the challenges that I have to go through in my life and in the pursuing of your will, please be with me Lord. I know I can’t make it without you.
Amen.

If you want to have a personal relationship with Jesus as your Lord and Savior pray: “Dear Jesus, I know that I am a sinner and that out of love for me you willingly sacrificed your life so that I may live. I repent of all my sins and open my heart to you as my Lord and Savior. Amen.

If you prayed this prayer for the first time or if you have any questions please contact us. We would love to hear from you.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

