Book Review: “13 Stolen Girls” by Gil Reavill

August 13, 2015 at 3:38 pm | Posted in Books | Leave a comment
Tags: , ,

Gil Reavill in his new book, “13 Stolen Girls book cover13 Stolen Girls” Book Two in the Layla Remington Mystery series published by Alibi gives us another adventure with Layla Remington.

From the back cover:   Perfect for fans of Michael Connelly or Nevada Barr, Gil Reavill’s gripping new Layla Remington thriller plunges readers beneath the glittering façade of Hollywood and into a terrifying underworld where beautiful women can just . . . disappear.
 
Malibu is crumbling. A monster earthquake has just ripped apart some of the priciest real estate on the planet. In a bizarre twist, it has also unearthed a grim secret buried for years beneath one particularly unstable hilltop: a steel barrel containing the mummified remains of Tarin Mistry, the beautiful starlet who went missing more than a decade ago. When Detective Investigator Layla Remington looks into that wretched metal coffin, she realizes she’s just landed the case of a lifetime.

But before Layla even strips off her latex gloves, a pair of hotshot LAPD detectives arrive on the scene and remove her from the investigation. Undeterred, she pursues her own line of inquiry. Risking her badge and her life, Layla’s determination to track down Tarin’s murderer takes her from the rarified air of exclusive canyon communities to seedy downtown sex clubs and the secluded lair of one of Hollywood’s most powerful men. But while Tarin’s case may be cold, her killer is poised to strike again—and in Layla, this depraved sociopath may have just found fresh prey.

I think the real tragedy when someone is killed is that not only is the killer not caught but the body was never discovered so the person is only considered missing not dead. There is no closure to the family and no respect for the person. I like Layla. Once she finds out that Tarin was murdered ten years ago she sets out to hunt down the killer. Along the way she also finds others that were the victim of this sociopath. Which also sets her up to be his next victim. It is part of the storyline the investigation into the BDSM scene. There are moments where it is a little difficult to read. “13 Stolen Girls” is a high quality thriller filled with betrayal, murder and conspiracy. Layla and the other characters in this book are so well done you would swear they are real. The mystery and suspense will keep you flipping pages as fast as you can read so be ready for an all-niter. I am so glad to have found Gil Reavill and am looking forward to the next book in this series.

If you would like to listen to interviews with other authors and professionals please go to www.kingdomhighlights.org where they are available On Demand.

To listen to 24 hours non-stop, commercial free Christian music please visit our internet radio station www.kingdomairwaves.org

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Enchanted Book Promotions.  I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

Advertisements

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

%d bloggers like this: