Book Review: “The Searcher” by Simon Toyne

November 21, 2015 at 5:38 pm | Posted in Books | 1 Comment
Tags: , ,

Simon Toyne in his new book, “searcher book coverThe Searcher” Book One in the Solomon Creed series published by William Morrow introduces us to Solomon Creed.

From the back cover:  Perfect for fans of Lee Child and Stephen King, the author of the acclaimed Sanctus trilogy conjures a haunting epic of good and evil, retribution and redemption—the first novel in the mesmerizing Solomon Creed series

On a windy hilltop in the town of Redemption, Arizona, people have gathered at an old cemetery to bury a local man who died in a tragic accident. But the occasion is suddenly disrupted by a thunderous explosion several miles away. A plane has crashed, pouring a pillar of black smoke into the air.

As Sheriff Garth Morgan speeds toward the accident, he nearly hits a man running down the road, with no shoes on his feet and no memory of who he is or how he got there. The only clues to his identity are a label in his jacket and a book that’s been inscribed to him, both giving the name Solomon Creed. Solomon knows only that he’s here for a reason—to save a man he has never met . . . a man who was buried that very morning.

Miles away, three men scan the skies for a plane carrying an important package. Spotting the black cloud in the distance, they suspect something has gone wrong, and that the man who has sent them will demand a heavy price if the package has been lost.

To uncover his real identity, Solomon must expose Redemption’s secrets and the truth behind the death of the man he is there to save. But there are those who will do anything to stop him, men prepared to call on the darkest forces to prevent Solomon from succeeding. The Searcher delves into history, murder, criminal revenge, and personal betrayal while also exploring bravery, love, sacrifice, and renewal—all underpinned by a truly frightening and deadly mystery.

I think the moment you have a town named Redemption in Arizona you are heading for a place that has secrets and is willing to go to extremes to keep them. Next add in an Albino who has amnesia who feels that he is there to save a dead man. Now add in a crashed plane, a missing package and  those that will stop at nothing to stop Solomon from what he has to do. Mr. Toyne has given us quite an engrossing thriller that will have you muttering “oh, no” as you are reading as fast as you can to get to the next page. Don’t start this book late at night as it will cost you sleep as you try to finish it before you go to bed.

If you would like to listen to interviews with other authors and professionals please go to www.kingdomhighlights.org where they are available On Demand.

To listen to 24 hours non-stop, commercial free Christian music please visit our internet radio station www.kingdomairwaves.org

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Partners In Crime.   I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

#TheSearcher #SimonToyne #SolomonCreed

Advertisements

1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Thanks so much for introducing us, and sharing your thoughts on, this 1st in series mystery with us.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

%d bloggers like this: