Bible Commentary: “John Meets Jesus (The First Time)” The Days Of Christmas

December 16, 2015 at 12:49 pm | Posted in Bible Commentary | Leave a comment
Tags: ,

“As soon as the sound of your greeting reached my ears, the baby in my womb leaped for joy.” (Luke 1:44)

We are counting the days until Christmas and we here at Word of Encouragement would like to spend this time together reviewing the prophecies and scriptures concerning the birthday of our King and seeing how they might apply to us today and receiving encouragement from them.

Luke gives us an account of the historic first meeting that His cousin, John, (who would grow up to be called the Baptizer) had with Jesus. Six months before the angel, Gabriel, appears to Mary and announces that she will conceive by the power of the Holy Spirit, the same angel, Gabriel, appeared to Mary’s cousin, Elizabeth and told her she would conceive a son by her husband, Zechariah. Luke tells us in chapter 1: 39-56 about that meeting, “At that time Mary got ready and hurried to a town in the hill country of Judea, where she entered Zechariah’s home and greeted Elizabeth. When Elizabeth heard Mary’s greeting, the baby leaped in her womb, and Elizabeth was filled with the Holy Spirit. In a loud voice she exclaimed: “Blessed are you among women, and blessed is the child you will bear! But why am I so favored, that the mother of my Lord should come to me? As soon as the sound of your greeting reached my ears, the baby in my womb leaped for joy. Blessed is she who has believed that what the Lord has said to her will be accomplished!” And Mary said: “My soul glorifies the Lord and my spirit rejoices in God my Savior, for he has been mindful of the humble state of his servant. From now on all generations will call me blessed, for the Mighty One has done great things for me– holy is his name. His mercy extends to those who fear him, from generation to generation. He has performed mighty deeds with his arm; he has scattered those who are proud in their inmost thoughts. He has brought down rulers from their thrones but has lifted up the humble. He has filled the hungry with good things but has sent the rich away empty. He has helped his servant Israel, remembering to be merciful to Abraham and his descendants forever, even as he said to our fathers.” Mary stayed with Elizabeth for about three months and then returned home”.

There has never been another meeting like this recorded in all of history, a six month embryo leaped for joy at the arrival of a recently conceived embryo. If nothing else this makes the case for life beginning at conception. But there is so much more. Luke tells us that the child who would be named John the Baptist “will be filled with the Holy Spirit even from birth”(Luke 1:15). Due to this infilling of the Spirit the embryo, John, is able to discern the presence of the Lord.  Psalm 22:10 tells us, “From birth I was cast upon you; from my mother’s womb you have been my God”. John was able to recognize His Lord immediately and was so overcome with emotion he leaped for joy. This is impressive as the womb is not normally considered a place for leaping and Elizabeth is immediately aware of this unusual event and is also filled with the Holy Spirit. Immediately Elizabeth is aware that her cousin, Mary, is also pregnant and is carrying the Lord, “In a loud voice she exclaimed: “Blessed are you among women, and blessed is the child you will bear! But why am I so favored, that the mother of my Lord should come to me” (Luke 1:42-43)? These infillings of the Holy Spirit predate the events in Acts 2:4 by over 30 years!

Child of God – Do you leap for joy when you come into the presence of Jesus? Are you so in tune with the Holy Spirit that when Jesus is evident in another are you aware? We should be able to discern when Jesus is in the heart of another person and rejoice in that person’s salvation. May our hearts be tender to the prompting of the Holy Spirit and His leading.

Our prayer:
Lord, thank you for the love, wisdom and power of your Holy Spirit. Make me sensitive to His presence in my life, so I don’t grieve Him and in others lives, so I can receive what you want to give me through them.
Amen.

If you want to have a personal relationship with Jesus as your Lord and Savior pray: “Dear Jesus, I know that I am a sinner and that out of love for me you willingly sacrificed your life so that I may live. I repent of all my sins and open my heart to you as my Lord and Savior. Amen.

If you prayed this prayer for the first time or if you have any questions please contact us. We would love to hear from you

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

