Book Review: “The Rogue Retrieval” by Dan Koboldt

January 27, 2016 at 4:49 pm | Posted in Books | Leave a comment
Tags: ,

Dan Koboldt in his new book, “The Rogue Retrieval book coverThe Rogue Retrieval” published by Harper Voyager Impulse introduces us to Quinn Bradley.

From the back cover:   Sleight of hand…in another land.

Stage magician Quinn Bradley has one dream: to headline his own show on the Vegas Strip. And with talent scouts in the audience wowed by his latest performance, he knows he’s about to make the big-time. What he doesn’t expect is an offer to go on a quest to a place where magic is all too real.

That’s how he finds himself in Alissia, a world connected to ours by a secret portal owned by a powerful corporation. He’s after an employee who has gone rogue, and that’s the least of his problems. Alissia has true magicians…and the penalty for impersonating one is death. In a world where even a twelve-year-old could beat Quinn in a swordfight, it’s only a matter of time until the tricks up his sleeves run out.

Scientist and blogger Dan Koboldt weaves wonder, humor, and heart into his debut novel, The Rogue Retrieval. Fans of Terry Brooks and Terry Pratchett will find this a thrilling read.

The Rogue Retrieval is a very clever storyline. Quinn has been recruited to crossover to Alissia to retrieve a rogue scientist (hence the title) whose actions threaten to put all of them at risk. Quinn is one of the best at being a Vegas stage magician. The situation is on Alissia they use real magic and it is going to take all Quinn’s skills to not get caught before they catch the scientist. This is perfect for a movie of the week. Quinn is a terrific character that captures your attention and bring you into his world.  I am glad I found this talented author and am looking forward to the next book.

If you would like to listen to interviews with other authors and professionals please go to www.kingdomhighlights.org where they are available On Demand.

To listen to 24 hours non-stop, commercial free Christian music please visit our internet radio station www.kingdomairwaves.org

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Pump Up Your Book.   I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

#DanKoboldt #TheRogueRetrieval

Advertisements

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

%d bloggers like this: