Book Review: “Cost of Life” by Joshua Corin

March 23, 2015 at 2:32 pm | Posted in Books | 3 Comments
Tags: , ,

Joshua Corin in his new book, “Cost of Life book coverCost of Life” published by Alibi introduces us to Larry Walder and FBI agent Xanadu Marx.

From the back cover:  For readers of Preston & Child, James Rollins, and Brad Thor comes a gripping new thriller from Joshua Corin, in which an audacious hijacking is just the beginning of a twisted international nightmare.

Happy Independence Day. You’re all going to die.

Life can’t be better for veteran pilot Larry Walder. He has a great job, a terrific kid, a gorgeous wife—and no inkling that tonight will be the end of the world as he knows it. In the early hours before the Fourth of July, three men break into Larry’s home. And as the day lurches on to its terrifying course, a life is taken, and Flight 816 from Atlanta to Cozumel, Mexico, vanishes off the radar.

In the air, Larry must find a way to save his family, his crew, and his passengers. On the ground, disgraced FBI agent Xanadu Marx goes rogue, making it her mission to track down the missing flight before the hijackers reach their diabolical endgame. With the casualties racking up and the world’s busiest airport under lockdown, a message arrives: This is no ordinary hijacking, no typical hostage crisis. This ransom is a totally different beast—the first hint of a conspiracy that might bring America to its knees.

I did not think it was possible to rack up so much tension and excitement in a single story.  That means that Joshua Corin is a really terrific writer because he racks up such suspense that you are not going to be able to put down this book once you get started. Larry’s family is being held hostage, of the bad guys never leaves his side so he cannot call for help. They are going to use his flight for some nasty purpose that he will find out later. Xanadu has her own problems and this hijacking is stressing her to her limits. You will not be able to figure out just what is going on. Fast paced action and betrayal are just some of the ingredients in this rousing adventure. “Cost of Life” is a top-notch adventure that will really get your blood flowing as you flip pages trying to find out what is going to happen next. Don’t start this book late at night because you will lose sleep as you cannot put this book down until you finish it. It is that good.

If you would like to listen to interviews with other authors and professionals please go to www.kingdomhighlights.org where they are available On Demand.

To listen to 24 hours non-stop, commercial free Christian music please visit our internet radio station www.kingdomairwaves.org

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from TLC Book Tours.  I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

Advertisements

3 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Ooh wow, I can’t imagine how scary that must have been for Larry! I can’t wait to see how it all turns out. I’m glad you can recommend this book so highly! Thanks for being a part of the tour.

  2. […] Monday, March 23rd: Vic’s Media Room […]

  3. […] Monday, March 23rd: Vic’s Media Room […]


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

%d bloggers like this: