Book Review: “Officer Elvis” by Gary Gusick

April 15, 2015 at 2:28 pm | Posted in Books | 4 Comments
Tags: , ,

Gary Gusick in his new book, “officer elvis book cocverOfficer Elvis” Book Two in the Darla Cavannah series published by Alibi gives us another adventure with Darla Cavannah.

From the back cover:  In the vein of Harlan Coben and Lisa Gardner, Gary Gusick takes readers on an explosive ride-along with Mississippi detective Darla Cavannah, a Yankee transplant making her name in the Deep South.
 
After performing at a local old-folks home, off-duty police officer and part-time Elvis impersonator Tommy Reylander smoothes out his pompadour, climbs into his pink Caddy, and gets all shook up—fatally so, when a bomb explodes. Whether he was killed for his police work or bad singing is a mystery that detective Darla Cavannah is determined to solve.

Though it’s been several years since Darla (reluctantly) partnered up with Tommy, she convinces her boss to let her lead the murder investigation. As the new regional director of the Mississippi Bureau of Investigation, Shelby Mitchell can think of better uses for his star detective’s time, but not even the most hardened good ole boy can resist Darla’s smart, savvy persuasions. She soon embarks on a roller coaster ride through the world of Elvis tribute artists while tracking down one of the most bizarre serial killers in the history of the Magnolia State. Aiding her pursuit of the killer is recently reprimanded officer Rita Gibbons, fresh from the trailer park and described by Shelby as “half a licorice stick short in the manners department.” But Rita’s plenty smart, even when this case takes their suspicious minds in an entirely unexpected direction.

Nothing against Elvis impersonators however you have to admit dressing up like him and singing his songs does seem like an unusual hobby. Certainly not something to get killed for. Especially blown up in a pink caddy. Now we are pushing it. I didn’t read the first book in this series, I will certainly correct that, but let me assure you Mr. Gusick set it up so that you didn’t have to. Now Darla and her new partner, Rita, are on the trail of a strange serial killer. This is a light breezy mystery that will have you laughing at times. This is a lot of fun and will keep you guessing as to who the killer is.  I like Darla Cavannah and I am so looking forward to her next adventure.

If you would like to listen to interviews with other authors and professionals please go to www.kingdomhighlights.org where they are available On Demand.

To listen to 24 hours non-stop, commercial free Christian music please visit our internet radio station www.kingdomairwaves.org

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from TLC Book Tours.  I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

Advertisements

4 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. People who can make a career out of impersonations completely fascinate me – what fun that must be!

    Thanks for being a part of the tour. I’m glad you enjoyed this entertaining mystery!

  2. […] Wednesday, April 15th: Vic’s Media Room […]

  3. […] Wednesday, April 15th: Vic’s Media Room […]

  4. […] Wednesday, April 15th: Vic’s Media Room […]


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

%d bloggers like this: